Reviews

Great value - Rating 5/5

Really convenient for Donington circuit where I was for a couple of days, with everything I needed and nothing I didn\'t for a good price which included a great breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope we see you next time you are in Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Alex King | Mon 16th Oct 2017


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Nice clean and comfy room, friendly and helpful hosts, and a freshly cooked tasty breakfast

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay. Les

Reviewer:David Barrow | Fri 13th Oct 2017


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay at the Donington Cottage, friendly welcome and nice and tidy. Very much recommended. Plus a good feed for breakfast :).

Response

Lovely to see you all again, and glad to know Les looked after you well.Helen

Reviewer:William Preston | Sat 7th Oct 2017


Great location and hospitality. - Rating 5/5

I have stayed with Helen over several years it\'s very comfortable,super breakfast and excellent location for the village and transport links.If you\'ve a car plenty of space and the accommodation is immaculate!

Response

Thank you Bruce, sorry I was ill this time, I\'m glad Les looked after you well.Helen

Reviewer:Bruce Blenkharn | Thu 5th Oct 2017


Doninton Cottage - Rating 4/5

The guest house is well situated for Donington race track. The rooms are a bit on the small side, especially when set-up as a twin. That said the beds are comfortable, the welcome friendly and the breakfast more than ample. There is also a good pub within 5 mins walk for evening meals.

Response

Thank you for your comment, quite understand. Helen

Reviewer:Andy Davis | Sat 30th Sep 2017


Review title? - Rating 5/5

Our room was immaculate and very well equipped. The owner Helen was very nice and cooked a delicious breakfast.

Response

Thank you Mr and Mrs Jones a pleasure to meet you both, glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Alan Jones | Thu 28th Sep 2017


1 night stay for local wedding - Rating 4/5

Friendly hosts, clean room good noise insulation. Breakfast excellent.

Response

Thank you for your kind commentsHelen

Reviewer:John Astbury | Mon 25th Sep 2017


Trackday convenience - Rating 5/5

Perfect location for Donington park circuit with private parking at the rear. Good breakfast. Ensure you contact them if you have a trailer so they can reserve a space for you.

Response

Thank you Matt, glad you liked Donington Cottage Helen

Reviewer:Matt Wetherell | Wed 20th Sep 2017


I keep coming back! - Rating 5/5

All great as usual. I come back every year as Donnington Cottage is very handy for the airpot and sp much more pleasant than chaon hotels. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you Sylwia, glad you enjoy your short stay Helen

Reviewer:Sylwia kociemba | Thu 14th Sep 2017


First class - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming, and comfortable stay, great breakfast, would definitely stay again

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay thank you Helen

Reviewer:Terry Wilson | Sun 10th Sep 2017


One night only - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, friendly and met the description.Great breakfast and the opportunities for evening food are really good.

Response

thank you for your kind comments Helen

Reviewer:Robert Sellar | Mon 4th Sep 2017


Great stay for what we wanted - Rating 5/5

We were going to a wedding at Donington Hall about a mile away, This guest house was perfectly positioned for us. Very comfy beds, extremely clean and very welcoming. Breakfast fab. Many thanks to Helen and partner plus Fergus the dog.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind comments. Helen

Reviewer:Clare-Anne Reeves | Mon 21st Aug 2017


Delightful - Rating 4/5

I had a very pleasant experience from being greeted by Helen all the way through to a great breakfast. the only negative was some road noise which ceased after 9:30 pm.

Response

Thank you, sorry i can not help the road. Helen

Reviewer:Philip Danby | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Donnington cottage guest house- Rating 5/5

Recommended to us by the Nags Head pub. Excellent hospitality, very clean and tidy rooms with en-suite shower room. Breakfast was great, will definitely be back to stay again soon. Thank you

Response

Thank you for your comments. Helen

Reviewer:Tim Seldon | Wed 9th Aug 2017


Ok - Rating 3/5

Room was ok, noisy traffic, I think £80 was a tad pricey given the standards. Overall ok though

Response

That was fare comment but of course your price did include full breakfast for both of you, which you did not get up for. Helen

Reviewer:Blaize Bancroft | Mon 17th Jul 2017


Pleasent stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely place to stay very close to airport will stay again if i fly from east midlands good value for money.

Response

Thank you Julie, see you next time you fly from EMA. Helen

Reviewer:julie eadie | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Cosy place with fantastic owner - Rating 5/5

Whenever I\'m in the EMA Area, I always try to stay with Helen at Donington Cottage. It always make me feel at home, away from home

Response

Thank you Janne glad you like your stays hope we see you next time you are in Castle Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Janne Lundell | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Donington Cottage - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here a few times now and have always found it to be the nicest place that I have stayed.Good value for money, very clean and tidy. Helen the hostess is very friendly and welcoming.

Response

Thanks for the nice comment Tania, hope things get better for you.Helen

Reviewer:Tania Fletcher | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Donnington cottage.- Rating 5/5

Lovely place in good location. Made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Breakfast was lovely. Would definatly stay again.

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Hayley Boden | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


Excellent Accommodation - Rating 5/5

As always, we found Donington Cottage clean and cosy combined with personal attention from Helen, the friendly proprietor.

Response

Thank you Jack nice to see you both again. Helen

Reviewer:Jack Roberts | Sun 2nd Jul 2017


stayed for only one night - Rating 5/5

Did not have time for breakfast, but plenty was left in fridge.Ample parking, great room.Will stay again, this time for longer

Response

Thank you hope we see you again when you are next in Castle Donington Helen

Reviewer:Frederick Watson | Sat 1st Jul 2017


Great location- Rating 4/5

Great location clean and friendly

Response

Hello David thank you for your kind comments. Helen

Reviewer:David Ingram | Wed 28th Jun 2017


Very highly recommended - Rating 5/5

excellent place, very helpful and friendly owners, well placed for Donington Circuit, good value for money

Response

Thank you Nigel for your kind comments, hope we see you again when you need to go to Donington Park.Helen

Reviewer:NIGEL BARBER | Mon 19th Jun 2017


Pleasant and easy stay - Rating 5/5

Despite late arrival and early departure the Doningtons Cottage hosts are very adaptive and make the stay easy. The place is cosy, rooms are quiet, very clean and comfortable. Convenient location very close to bus stop to the airport and Main Street restaurants and pubs. Highly recommended for any kind of stay in Castle Donington or a trip by East Midlands airport.

Response

thank you for your comment hope we see you next time you are in East Midlands.Helen

Reviewer:Nicolas Dodane | Thu 15th Jun 2017


Excellent location & breakfast! - Rating 4/5

Accommodation is very comfortable and good value.The breakfast is excellent and sets you up for the day.My only problem was that there were no toiletries in the room and I hadn\'t brought any with me as it said they were provided.Perhaps I should have seen you about it but I didn\'t wish to bother you.Stayed here for 2 consecutive years and hope to continue to do so.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay. The soap dispenser in all the bathrooms is soap and shampoo, sorry there was not all you needed.Helen

Reviewer:David Hawcroft | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Room was compact but pleasant and very clean with all I wanted for my brief stay. Breakfast was excellent and proprietors were pleasant and helpful. Even texted me when I left my phone charger behind, so I was able to get back to collect it before leaving the area!

Response

Thank you for your kind comments glad you enjoyed your stay.Helen

Reviewer:Andrew Whitehouse | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay really goodbreakfast nothing too much trouble.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your weekend. Much appreciated comments.Helen

Reviewer:Janet Bunn | Tue 30th May 2017


fantastic! - Rating 4/5

This Guest house is one of the best that i have been too. The accommodation was immaculate, practical and comfortable. It is only a short walk from places to eat and also close to the east midlands airport and donington race circuit. Would highly recommend to other people. Helen, who runs the establishment is very friendly and helpful. Her hospitality is impeccable.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay.Helen

Reviewer:Leanne Davies | Mon 29th May 2017


Business Trip - great value for money - Rating 4/5

Stayed one night in a comfortable bed, nice layout of property, very clean and lovely breakfast which in spite of best intentions not to eat all of it, I couldn\'t help myself! Helen is no fuss and very sweet. Ate at the Castle and the food, ambience and establishment was extremely high standard. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stayHelen

Reviewer:Kerrie-Lee Bearman | Thu 25th May 2017


Nice lady - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome and very friendly lady filling in for owners who were on holiday.

Response

Thank you will pass onto my friend, nice to know you were well looked after.Helen

Reviewer:Royston Pavelin | Mon 22nd May 2017


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

A great stay at Donington Cottage, very friendly, great breakfast and great value.

Response

Thank you see you again Helen

Reviewer:Robert Cooper | Mon 22nd May 2017


Warm - Rating 5/5

Lovely place ....clean and a lovely vibe

Reviewer:Andrew Dance | Sat 20th May 2017


stayed weds 17th May 2017 - Rating 5/5

The B& B was ideal for what we required.Helen was very welcoming and offered to cook us a breakfast the next day for 06.30 due to our early start. The rooms were tidy and warm and we had a good nights rest. Will come here again.

Response

Thank you look forward to seeing you againHelen

Reviewer:Neil Ellis | Fri 19th May 2017


Donington race circuit stay. - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyable stay with lovely rooms, service and breakfast. The landlady even arranged to move breakfast forward as there were 4 of us needing an early leave.Highly recommended

Response

Glad you liked our Guest House, hopefully see you next time you are at Donington ParkHelen

Reviewer:Mr. Garry Pease | Fri 19th May 2017


Brilliant location for Donington Park - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful owner;clean and comfortable accommodation. Helen is happy to provide breakfast at 7am, so you will be well in time to sign on for trackdays at Donington Park, which is only two minutes away.

Response

Thank you, see you next time when you are coming to Donington Park.Helen

Reviewer:Adam Daum | Fri 12th May 2017


Fabulous !- Rating 4/5

Lovely friendly B and B ! Perfect location

Response

Thanks Louise hope you have a great holiday.Helen

Reviewer:Louise Nugent | Thu 11th May 2017


Donington cottage - Rating 5/5

Excellent value and a great breakfast.

Response

Thank you Helen, see you again sometime.

Reviewer:Keith Phillips | Tue 9th May 2017


Endurance Legends weekend at Donington Park - Rating 5/5

Perfect setting close to the track.Very welcoming and hospitable. Great gastro pub just up the road Will definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you look forward to seeing you again. Helen

Reviewer:frank miles | Mon 8th May 2017


Lovely gueathouse - Rating 5/5

Comfy bed, great location for East Midlands airport. Excellent English breakfast. Good value. Helen is lovely and very attentive. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you Tim for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. Helen

Reviewer:Tim Robins | Sat 6th May 2017


MRS - Rating 5/5

IT WAS VERY GOOD. I WISH TO BOOK AGAIN THIS YEAR PLEASE

Response

Look forward to seeing you again on the 22nd September Helen

Reviewer:Rosemarie OSBORNE | Fri 5th May 2017


Donington cottage - Rating 5/5

Spotless,would stay again,great breakfast

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.Helen

Reviewer:Bernard Hoy | Fri 5th May 2017


Donington Park break - Rating 5/5

Great bed and breakfast with friendly owner

Response

Thank you for the great response. Helen

Reviewer:Melanie Potter | Thu 4th May 2017


Jaydub. - Rating 5/5

Friendly owner,good location, comfortable room, great breakfast. Just what was needed before a long day at the circuit.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, hope we see you again if you come to Castle Donington.Helen

Reviewer:John whyatt | Tue 2nd May 2017


Very pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

This B& B is neat cosy and comfortable, with nice and very adaptive owners. Very good and personalised breakfast. Strongly recommended for its quality and location.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Nicolas Dodane | Tue 2nd May 2017


- Rating 0/5

Great value for money warm very clean and good locationWarm pleasant reception On arrival very helpful with local amenities Excellent breakfast will book again if available

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we see you next time you are in Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Paul Saxton | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay at Donington Cottage- lovely roomand top class breakfast. Lovely old character cottage and nice village. Thankyou.

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Nicky Pagett | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay very much, Helen was great so was our breakfast and room. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank for your kind remarks, glad you enjoyed yourselves.Helen

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Bullock | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Donington cottage - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable roomVery friendly host.

Response

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Tania Fletcher | Fri 21st Apr 2017


Accommodation - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming place to stay where I would not have a problems in recommending to anyone.I hope that when I next visit the area there will be a room available for me!

Reviewer:Mr. Kenn Almond | Mon 17th Apr 2017


Good clean accommodation and great breakfast - Rating 5/5

Good clean accommodation and great breakfast

Response

Thank you for your feedback. Helen

Reviewer:kevin stanzl | Mon 10th Apr 2017


best guest house in donington - Rating 5/5

the rooms are spacious,very comfortable and clean.In fact the whole guest house is the same,and the breakfast is excellent.I have stayed here on a number of occasions and will continue to do so.

Response

Thank you Kevin, I must say not all my rooms are spacious, but glad yours have bean. Look forward to seeing you next time. Helen

Reviewer:kevin Ellis | Mon 10th Apr 2017


One of Castle Doningtons best - Rating 5/5

We booked this very last minute and so glad we did. The b& b is well situated about 300m from the centre of town where there are a few shops and nice pubs, and about 30 mins leisurely walk to the race track. The b& b is hosted by the lovely Helen who welcomed us on arrival. The room was very clean and spacious, although we had shared bathroom (of which there were 2) there was no problem with waiting or cleanliness, again facilities were well looked after. Breakfast was tasty. Full english, fruit and cereal available. All in all great place to stay in a fab location with a great host and clean, tidy facilities. Will definately be visiting again. *****

Response

Thank you so much glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to you coming again.Helen

Reviewer:Mel Vigors | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Donnington racewkend. - Rating 5/5

Just had a3 night stay at this wonderful guesthouse. Mine hosts Helen and Les were excellent. Breakfast was plentiful, the room was spotless. Five minutes from Donnigton circuit. Looking forward to going back next year.

Response

Hi Marco, so glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to your returning next year. Helen

Reviewer:Marco Kurobasa | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay here.The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Helen is the perfect hostess very pleasant and extremely helpful. The breakfast is unbelievable and sets you up for the day. Will be back next year for British Superbike weekend

Response

Morning Pauline, Glad you enjoyed your stay and what a beautiful day you had on Sunday. thank you Helen

Reviewer:Mrs. PAULINE SILK | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Excellant all round - Rating 5/5

Stayed over for one night after visiting Donington Park. Can\'t fault anything about the Donington Cottage & I will be staying again.

Response

Thank you Colin glad you enjoyed your stay and l look forward to you staying again. Helen

Reviewer:COLIN PORT | Mon 27th Mar 2017


Two day stay.... - Rating 5/5

Warm, clean and comfortable with a friendly proprietor and a feast of a breakfast!An easy 5* recommendation.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, glad you enjoyed your stay.Helen

Reviewer:Ms. Jill Campbell | Mon 16th Jan 2017


Experiencing the forgotten art of hospitality - Rating 5/5

Stayed here on December 17 last.EXCELLENT value for the solo traveller, comfortable ,warm and clean. Best breakfast i had during my 4 days in U.K. .Helen very helpfull with all queries,nothing too much trouble.Stay in Donnington Cottage and you will realise what you are missing when staying in Motels and Inns !

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, it is much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.Helen

Reviewer:Tim Sherlock | Sat 24th Dec 2016


Great breakfasts- Rating 4/5

Great breakfasts, very comfortable stay.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:Annie Harrison | Tue 20th Dec 2016


Pleasant stay- Rating 5/5

Very clean and comfortable accommodation Relaxed atmosphere and the owner was very prompt and helpfulExcellent breakfast with plenty of options Would stay again

Response

Thank you so much glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Craig Turner | Sat 10th Dec 2016


very good - Rating 5/5

good place to stay, the guest kitchen and secure parking was particularly helpful. Excellent breakfast.

Response

Thank you Nigel for your kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:NIGEL BARBER | Wed 7th Dec 2016


Best B&B in town- Rating 5/5

Nice clean rooms great breakfast frendly staff l will be stopping here again thanks for a great stay

Response

Chris thanks you very much for your kind remarks and for me its great to know the Guest House runs as good as if I was there. Helen

Reviewer:Steve Neal | Wed 30th Nov 2016


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome, clean and serviceable room. Lovely breakfast

Response

Chris thanks for for the kind comments, and glad you enjoyed her cooking. Helen

Reviewer:Lorna Coy | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean room. Warn welcome. Great breakfast.

Response

Thank you Andrew for your great remarks. Helen

Reviewer:Andrew Ogden | Mon 21st Nov 2016


Convenient and comfortable B+B - Rating 4/5

Ideal accommodation for Donington Park and East Midlands airport. Basic but very comfortable and good breakfast. Friendly and helpful service. Happy to recommend.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. Helen

Reviewer:Kevin Ludbrook | Thu 17th Nov 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Nothing but praise for this little gem, clean warm and very friendly service all topped of with a fantastic breakfast..what more culd you need .....

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, hope we see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Chris Stobart | Mon 14th Nov 2016


Delicious breakfast - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night at Donington Cottage, sharing a room with our son. It was very friendly and clean, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. Nice higgledy piggledy building with shared bathrooms.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. Hope we see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Rachel Duffield | Mon 7th Nov 2016


A home from home - Rating 5/5

Good price, very clean , wonderful sleep , plenty parking and friendly owners and awesome breakfast! Would stay again when in the area.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, look forward to seeing you next time you are in Castle Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Cheynne Van Niekerk | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Should\'ve had a double room - Rating 4/5

Donington cottage great location and very nice guest house. Breakfast was good with plenty of orange juice and coffee. Only down side i booked a single room should\'ve had a double bed being 6ft 8, also rooms were to hot for me but being by the main road i didn\'t open a window due to traffic

Response

Thank your for your comments you should have said about the bed, I would have put you next door which has a double bed.The radiators are all individual and could be turned off in your room, and all the heating goes off during the night and on again 5.30 in the morning, sorry Helen

Reviewer:Matt Palmer | Sat 29th Oct 2016


Good guest house - Rating 4/5

Run by nice owner, good way to stay in Donington Castle - good beds, clean and some good restaurants nearby.

Response

Thank you so much for your comments. Helen

Reviewer:Norman Grychtol | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Professional and well-run - Rating 4/5

A more than decent stay at this comfortable guest house in pretty Castle Donington. Ihad to change my initial booking, and was also grateful for Les\'s help in rescheduling it without penalty or fuss. Single room was fine, as were bathroom facilities and a satisfying cooked breakfast, made by Maggie.Only one or two minor gripes/suggestions - a washbaisin in the bedroom would be a welcome addition, and more clarity about whether payment is taken on the emailed booking receipt could be helpful. Otherwise, I\'d be perfectly happy to stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your review, by the way my name is Helen, the owner not Maggie.Unfortunately I would love to make all my rooms with facilities butdue to the narrow building it would mean pipes out the front of the property and I think that would not look nice. Hope we see you again sometime Helen

Reviewer:Dr. Simon Thomas | Sat 22nd Oct 2016


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay really friendly owners . Breakfast beutifull and room big and spotless clean will deffo booking again for other events at donington park

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you next time you are in Castle Donington Thank you Helen

Reviewer:Stefan North | Mon 10th Oct 2016


gŕeat place to stay - Rating 5/5

My first time at this pleasant guest house.Spotlessly clean. Made to feel really welcome even though i was late in arriving. Great breakfast and fantastic value for money. Definitely stay again.

Response

Hi Jean, thank you for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. Helen

Reviewer:Jean Todd | Wed 5th Oct 2016


Good rates great breakfast- Rating 5/5

Very nice frendly staff nice clean room good parking Thanks for lovely stay

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope we see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Steve Neal | Fri 23rd Sep 2016


not sure what you want - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable. Helen was very welcoming

Response

Thank you Helen

Reviewer:Rosemarie OSBORNE | Thu 22nd Sep 2016


Lovely b and b. - Rating 5/5

Good location close to airport.very clean and comfortable room.I will definately stay there again.

Response

thank you look forward to seeing next time you need to be near EMA. Helen

Reviewer:Susan Booth | Wed 21st Sep 2016


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights for visit to BSB meeting at Donington Park. Were made to feel very welcome, room was very clean and very nice breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:Thomas Ian Burnicle | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Prior to our arrival I received a nice e-mail from the owner. We arrived at 9.30 to be met in the car park by the owner. We did not expect our rooms to be ready but was given the key to one of the rooms which was in fact ready. The rooms (2 Twins) were basic with beds and a TV (what more do you want) Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, plenty of coffee and toast and a full English. We are waiting for next years dates for the BSB and will be straight on to book.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks hope to see you next time you are in Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Mark Patterson | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Great value B&B - Rating 5/5

Clean room , comfy bed , nice breakfast , parking and a short walk from restaurants , this good value B& B is ideally located for the Donington circuit.

Response

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you next time you are in Castle Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Steven Flello | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Exactly what we needed - Rating 5/5

Looking for a base for a couple of nights, for visiting heritage railways, found this. Donington Cottage Guest House is very comfortable, has exactly what you need and although it is next to the road and very near East Midlands Airport I slept with the window open and was not disturbed. Good choice of pubs and restaurants in Castle Donington, all within easy walking distance.Only slight gripe was cereals! Hate cornflakes, Weetabix etc, most places have a muesli option. Still five stars though!

Response

Thank you for your 5 stars, its a shame you did not ask I have muesli, I should have notice there was none out. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Budd | Mon 5th Sep 2016


Stayed for racing - Rating 5/5

Great - comfy, warm, welcoming, will use again....and very close to circuit.Thank you, Helen!

Response

Thank you for the kind remarks look forward to seeing you again. Helen

Reviewer:Stuart Jefcoate | Sun 4th Sep 2016


Great for the price - Rating 5/5

Rooms have all anyone needs for a short stay and are clean. Ideally placed for Donington. Breakfasts are great.

Response

Hope we see you again sometime, thank you Helen

Reviewer:Steve Dolman | Mon 29th Aug 2016


Always a pleasure- Rating 5/5

This is the second time have stayed and I am sure they will be more stay in the future, I have stayed as attending an event at Doninigton Park but it is ideal for East Midlands airport as well, friendly hosts comfy rooms free wifi, great breakfast, free on site parking short walk to village centre and pubs well recommended back next time I am at Donington park

Response

Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Castle Donington, no better recommendation than some one who returns. Helen

Reviewer:Ronald Crooks | Fri 26th Aug 2016


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Quaint place. Close to pubs but quiet. Safe parking. Friendly staff.Hope to visit again.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay, maybe we will see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Frances Kennedy | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Donington Cottage - Rating 4/5

Lovely place;kind, friendly owners;free wifi;lovely breakfast;clean, pleasant room;decent value for money.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:James Blake | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Donington Park - Rating 5/5

Great value will use again thank you.

Response

Thanks for your kind remarks hope we see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Michael Bohle | Mon 8th Aug 2016


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom and no problems at all sharing these facilities. Comfortable bed and great breakfast. Fantastic Wi-Fi. Conveniently located for the airport. No problems with out of hours arrival. Would definitely return.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope we see you next time you fly from EMA Helen

Reviewer:Catriona Whiteley | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Donington circuit sleep over - Rating 5/5

Three of us stayed the night before track day. Helen made space for our vehicle in the car park. The room was comfortable and although we had to leave before breakfast she made sure we had everything we needed incase we wanted to help ourselves. Would highly recommend 👌🏻

Response

Thanks for your kind remarks hope we see you next time its your track day. Helen

Reviewer:Pennie Jibson | Wed 20th Jul 2016


race day - Rating 5/5

perfect for race track just down road ,clean tidy ,good brekky nice host ,great value for money ,

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope we see you next time you are in Donington.Helen

Reviewer:Paul Stone | Thu 14th Jul 2016


Stay at Donington Cottage- Rating 4/5

We had a very comfortable stay at this guest house.Rooms clean and bed well suited for a good night\'s sleep. Location favourable for the village centre and race track. No problem with traffic or airport noise.Very friendly and helpful hosts and tasty breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your commentsHelen

Reviewer:Margaret Knight | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, clean, friendly and a smashing breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your commentsHelen

Reviewer:Michael Burne | Fri 8th Jul 2016


D - Rating 5/5

I spent a very comfortable night at Donnington Cottage,Extremely convenient for the airport.

Response

Thank you sorry we didn\'t get to meet. Helen

Reviewer:Christine Chatwin | Thu 30th Jun 2016


Very welcoming lovely stay- Rating 5/5

I was welcomed later in the evening and shown around. Nice clean rooms and very close to donnington park.

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Martin Affinito | Sun 26th Jun 2016


Comfy and clean - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room. Clean bathroom and toilet. Owner is very helpful. Nice breakfast. Good position -ideal for airport.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. Helen

Reviewer:Chris Chapman | Sun 26th Jun 2016


Beautiful place with lovely people - Rating 5/5

We had such a lovely stay at short notice. The pictures don\'t do the place justice, it was beautiful and so clean. Everyone was so lovely it was like a home away from home. Thank you!!

Response

Thank you for your glowing report, glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Laura Pascall | Fri 17th Jun 2016


Comfortable. - Rating 4/5

Was made very welcome. Room clean and comfortable. A good vegetarian breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your remarks glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Susan Gadsby | Wed 15th Jun 2016


Perfect for my needs! - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room but slightly noisy due to traffic.Good teamaking facilities and excellent breakfast.Had everything you would need and was very reasonably priced.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. Helen

Reviewer:David Hawcroft | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable bed, all very clean and a wonderful full English breakfast to start the day.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks.Helen

Reviewer:Charles Lane | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Janet watson italy - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay Helen was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfadt was exceptional.Woulddefinitely stay again.

Response

Hi Janet hope you enjoyed your holiday with your family, thank you for your nice comments. Helen

Reviewer:Janet Watson | Thu 2nd Jun 2016


Btcc overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Good location easy to find near local restaurant\'s nice room comfortable bed lovely breakfast

Response

thank you for your kind remarks, hope to see you again sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Andrew Bowler | Sat 28th May 2016


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Great room, very comfortable with a wonderful breakfast included

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:Armand Sukhla | Sun 15th May 2016


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

second time we have stayed here will stay again room clean and comfortable Helen the owner very friendly and helpful cooks a breakfast to die for a good start for the day.

Response

Thank you and hope to see you again Helen

Reviewer:Graham Dzenis | Mon 9th May 2016


my stay at Donington cottage - Rating 5/5

Donington Cottage is a very good Guest House and provides its guests with a high quality stay. I would certainly return again.

Reviewer:Mr. roger bennett | Tue 3rd May 2016


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Went with 7 Dutch Adults to go to Historic festival at Donington park. Stayed at this Guest House. It was just what we expected (staying in a Cottage near Castle donington and the circuit)). Clean, tidy, warm, everything worked, and a greatbreakfast (We already miss it) . Shared bathroom were no problem. Helen the lady who runs the place is very friendly and helps you as much as she can . We had a lovely stay for 3 nights. Would do it again

Reviewer:Mr. Mat Claassens | Tue 3rd May 2016


Warm and friendly - Rating 5/5

We chose Donington Cottage as it was close to Donington Race Circuit and as it turns out we chose well;it is a delightful and friendly guest house, beds were super comfy too!I would recommend this guest house to anyone.

Response

Thank you Louise hope you had a good day. Helen

Reviewer:Louise West | Thu 21st Apr 2016


the hunters stopover - Rating 4/5

stayed at cottage for two nights in april we were there to watch the touring cars at donnington great place 3 of us in the family room,warm cosy,good beds good bathroom , good breakfast lovely people well looked after by hellen the boss, would stay again no prolem ernie hunter.

Response

Thank you Ernie very glad you enjoyed yourselves. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. ernie hunter | Tue 19th Apr 2016


No negative reports - Rating 5/5

I made this booking on behalf of a contractor and I have not heard any negative reports from him.

Response

I hope we can be of help another time, thank you Helen

Reviewer:Claire Murphy | Mon 18th Apr 2016


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

Food excellent, room clean and comfortable

Reviewer:Ian Brown | Sun 17th Apr 2016


Very homely - Rating 5/5

Clean and homely b& b very friendly and excellent breakfast

Response

Thank you hope we can help again some time. Helen

Reviewer:Michael Cooper | Mon 4th Apr 2016


Just right - Rating 5/5

Just right for my purposes.Clean, tidy, quiet, warm, everything worked, good breakfast at 7am.Guest kitchen that I did\'t need this time but a useful extra.Shared bathroom had a large walk in shower, also perfect for me.Good off road parking.

Response

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your kind review. Helen

Reviewer:John Pead | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Highly recommend - Rating 5/5

I don\'t have anything bad to say about this property the room was adequate, warm, and quite considering there was road works right outside I made use of the little kitchen for one of my evening meals, my only comment was this could have a bit more ventilation, there was a strong smell of someone\'s meal when I arrived and it could still be smelt the following evening. Breakfast was good plenty of choice and Helen was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area WIFI was good and great to have a car park off the road

Response

Thank you Caathrynwas very nice to hear your comments, and will certainly take on board the smell from small kitchen.Helen

Reviewer:Cathryn Bouaouina | Thu 24th Mar 2016


A most comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much indeed for the wonderful, warm hospitality, and for your flexibility in allowing me to check in a bit earlier than normal, but still serving me a most delicious breakfast on my arrival when it was past the usual time for breakfasts, much appreciated !

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks.Helen

Reviewer:Ying Lin | Thu 11th Feb 2016


Couldnt stay in Room One again if I rebook - Rating 3/5

After staying in Hotels every week in the local area for the last two years,after receiving a recommendation from a local pub - and reading all the good reviews,I took the plunge.Helen was on holiday so didn\'t have the pleasure of meeting her.Clean/Tidy/Warm and Welcoming and probably more ideal for someone getting an early flight from EMA or at a local course/working away for a few days.Additional kitchen you can use was useful.The room was very small - bed comfy - but ensuite was very difficult to get to grips with if you are more than a size 10.I personally couldn\'t use the toilet as I either burnt myself on the towel rail,or couldn\'t fit comfortably with my shoulder on the shower cubicle and knee on the towel rail (after switching off) I might add.Think clients should be advised prior to booking of the small size of the area housing the toilet - more suited to a child/teenager.

Response

Sorry for your small room, and I have looked and Christine couldn\'t put you anywhere else as we were full, if you risk another stay please ask NOT to be put in room no.3, you wont find the same problem elsewhere. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Tim Harris | Wed 27th Jan 2016


Downington cottage guest house. - Rating 5/5

We would like to say how good it was to stay there. You had a good feeling as soon as you went into the place. The place was nice and clean and comfortable. Helen the lady who runs the place is very friendly. The breakfast was good also.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope we see you again next time you are in the area. Helen

Reviewer:John Brown | Mon 28th Dec 2015


bob and albert - Rating 5/5

Excellent service with a very friendly atmosphere

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. Hope we see you again next time you are in the area. Helen

Reviewer:Robert Sneddon | Sun 6th Dec 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Wonderful guest house and friendly staff. Room very comfortable, great breakfast and plenty of parking. Will definitely use this again.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope we see you again soon. Helen

Reviewer:Sonia Flemons | Sat 14th Nov 2015


Excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

I stayed just for two days in Donnington Cottage. Rooms are always clean and bed confortable. Helen is a very kind person. And the living room is a nice place to have breakfast. I would totally come againn either for short or long stay. 5 stars

Response

Hi Giuseppe, thank you for your remarks ,glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime Helen

Reviewer:Giuseppe Cocilovo | Thu 12th Nov 2015


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night during a weekend course. They were very welcoming,and the room was spotless. The bathrooms aee shared,but again very clean. Breakfast was lovely. Overall a very nice night, very good value for money.

Response

Thank you very much for your review. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Helen.

Reviewer:Ruba Halabi | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


B & B - Rating 3/5

Nice stay but bedroom just too small for two people would want a bigger room with ensuite if we stayed again.

Response

So sorry your room was small I was fully booked so had no were else to offer. Helen

Reviewer:WENDY Stanley | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Business Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night on a business trip, lovely welcome excellent room, good food and will certainly return when the opportunity arises. The owner Helen is a most delightful lady. Thankyou

Response

Thank you for your very kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:Roger Wood | Fri 23rd Oct 2015


Very Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight when son was racing at Donington Racetrack very warm and comfortable room. Breakfast was amazing a good start for the day.

Response

Thank you for your very kind remarks Helen

Reviewer:Graham Dzenis | Tue 20th Oct 2015


Donington Cottage Guest House. - Rating 4/5

Solo motorcycle traveller:-Friendly, clean & tidy, good facilities, great breakfast, off street parking, very close to racetrack & airport, all round good value:)

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Alistair Johnston | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Nice but Noisy - Rating 4/5

We found the Guest House to be clean and comfortable. Helen was a lovely host and made us feel at home. The only thing that would stop us from recommending the Guest House was that it is on a busy road and the noise from the traffic was loud.

Response

Sorry about the noise Helen

Reviewer:Mr. David Everest | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Simply the best - Rating 5/5

Perfect B& B in a great location. Made to feel at home straightaway by Helen and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Great breakfasts and Helen was very attentive making sure we had plenty of everything. Nothing was too much trouble and were very helpful getting boarding passes printed off. We will definitely be back.

Response

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Ronald Tweedy | Wed 12th Aug 2015


great value- Rating 5/5

stayed just 1 night as I was going to Donnington park which was only a couple of miles away, I chose shared bathroom, free wifi was good. breakfast was cooked to order, couple of pubs in walking distance would definitely stay here again next time I am in the area

Response

Thank you for your very kind remarksHelen

Reviewer:Ronald Crooks | Wed 12th Aug 2015


Donington Cott- Rating 4/5

Ideal stay for my needs, 1 night stopover while visiting Donington.Cheap & cheerful Thanks vey much

Response

thank you for your kind comments Helen

Reviewer:Chris Clark | Fri 7th Aug 2015


Very good B&B - Rating 4/5

There is much to praise. Great location, easy off-road parking. Warm and friendly reception from Helen, clean room and bathrooms and an excellent breakfast. Full English and plenty of it. You will enjoy your stay.Struggled to get wi-fi and shared bathroom stops the full 5 Stars.

Response

Thank you for your remarksHelen

Reviewer:Geoff Curnow | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Although our room was on the ground floor facing the road it was well sound-proofed so noise was not a problem. It was also very comfortable. Helen is a lovely hostess and she could not have been more friendly, welcoming or helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Ian Bateman | Fri 26th Jun 2015


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, owners are really kind and prepare a special English breakfast.I will book again for my next trip.

Response

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Alessandro Borin | Wed 17th Jun 2015


Great night\'s stay - Rating 5/5

Traveled down for the night before a festival to save travelling on the day and had a very relaxing time. Helen is polite, helpful and accommodating, and the room was clean and cosy. The breakfast was also very good and I\'d recommend getting this included. Thank you for everything!

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope you enjoyed the festival, its a shame the weather wasn\'t better Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Samuel Pierce | Tue 16th Jun 2015


accommodation - Rating 3/5

everything very nice.the mattress is very old and it need to be changed

Response

sorry about the mattress they are on order, due within a few days. Helen

Reviewer:Jose Manuel Maroto Morales | Tue 2nd Jun 2015


Little immaculate gem - Rating 5/5

I actually called Helen to cancel my booking as i mistakenly booked a room that didnt have an en suit.But Helen was so nice I kept the booking.The Guest house was lovely and cosy, very clean and safe.There were even toiletries in the bathroom with lovely thick bath mats!!!

Response

thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay.Helen

Reviewer:Sarah Marshall | Thu 30th Apr 2015


A day at the Races - Rating 4/5

Very nice stay in the cottage. I\'m an American traveller that likes to stay outside of the chain hotels and business corporations. Lovely family that runs it, ample parking, clean facilities, and wonderful breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Nathan Werner | Mon 27th Apr 2015


you told us it was fully booked and couldnt stay. - Rating 1/5

absolutely disgusted in the service. we came and was told you hadn\'t received our booking and therefore had to go elsewhere. Whats even worse is you have the audacity to send me an email asking how the stay was!

Response

The response is sent by Booking .com sorry about that, not my dong.The booking was not on the system, and have gone into great lengths to hope it never happens again, as i might add it has never happened before. my apologize. Helen

Reviewer:Miss. ella potter | Mon 27th Apr 2015


Day trip - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night, we found the room comfortable, shared bathroom clean and tidy, breakfast was very good Helen was very welcoming, would use this guest house again.

Response

thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:John Gray | Mon 27th Apr 2015


good b&b - Rating 4/5

Good bed and good breakfast, enjoyed my stay here, useful place to stay on a work trip.

Response

Thank you, I hope we can assist as well next time you are in Castle DoningtonHelen

Reviewer:Cathrien Van Hak | Fri 24th Apr 2015


I will come back - Rating 5/5

Comfy , friendly, bus stop in front and great breakfast.I arrived late for check in and Helen helped me.This will be my place every time I go to East Midlands.

Response

Thanks Juan nice to meet you glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully see you next time you are in Castle Donington.

Reviewer:Juan Manuel Corts Serna | Thu 23rd Apr 2015


Donington Cottage Guest House - Rating 5/5

Good value for money and friendly owners. Fitted our requirements perferctly as also within a stone\'s throw to Donington Park.Would definitely use again

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. Helen

Reviewer:David Roberts | Wed 22nd Apr 2015


Friendly well run guesthousr - Rating 5/5

From the welcome on arrival till the moment I left I was impressed with how well Helen runs this establishment. The room smelt clean on entering. Room tastefully decorated and spotless. Comfortable bed. Had a great sleep despite being on a main road. Excellent breakfast full English first day. Wanted something a bit lighter second day so just had a bacon sandwich. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic value. I have paid double for places not as good

Response

Hello DianeThank you so much for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay, and your weekend.Helen

Reviewer:Diane Rodgers | Thu 9th Apr 2015


Lovely stay at a friendly and convenient B&B. - Rating 3/5

Will be staying here again as found it warm and friendly. I usually stay in ensuite accommodation only but it wasn\'t available for my stay. I would not hesitate to stay and share the shower rooms again. Great surprise to find a kitchenette available to guests for storing grocery items and cleaning out the cooler! Beautiful back garden! Very clean comfortable accommodation!

Response

Thank you for your kind commentsHelen

Reviewer:Gael Bretz | Wed 8th Apr 2015


Lovely place - Rating 4/5

Lovely little guest house,very clean and tidy, everything I needed was at hand and made to feel very welcome! Would return and would recommend.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay although short. Thank you for your kind comments. Helen

Reviewer:John Willis | Sat 4th Apr 2015


Donnington cottage saturday night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely cottage in beautiful location.Well looked after and the breakfast was \'to die for\'.No hesitation of recommending Donnington Cottage as a great place to stay

Response

Thank you so much for your comments.They are much appreciated.Helen

Reviewer:Owen Porter | Tue 24th Mar 2015


review - Rating 5/5

Great b& b. Very comfortable, friendly and an awesome breakfast in the morning. Would very happily stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments look forward to seeing you next time Helen

Reviewer:Sian Wood | Sun 22nd Feb 2015


5 night stay at Donington cottage.- Rating 4/5

Pleasant digs for my week at a training course at Donington park, all I needed was a warm place to sleep, shower & do my homework which Donington cottage supplied without problem.To have use of a kitchen in the evening & a garage to keep my motorcycle in were above & beyond expectation. All in all, my needs satisfied.

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:GARY PERRIN | Sun 25th Jan 2015


Great Accomadation - Rating 5/5

Just like to say I really enjoyed my time there even though just for 1 night, but if that\'s the standard I\'d would stay there longer next time without a doubt.Good clean honest guest house.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments Helen

Reviewer:Mr. David Robinson | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money, thank you.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments Helen

Reviewer:Jeremy Sykes | Sat 4th Oct 2014


Great plave to saty and local to Donington Park - Rating 5/5

Was there to greet us at 10pm!! :-) Thanks for the parking help and also the great breakfast :-)

Response

Thank you for your kind comment hope to see you next time you are in Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Anthony Owen | Thu 25th Sep 2014


Blind Drive - Rating 5/5

Thank you for every thing you did for us during our stay.We enjoyed our stay at Donington Cottage we hope to be staying there again.

Reviewer:Kevin Crossley | Wed 17th Sep 2014


happy days here - Rating 4/5

so pleased we found you. t\'was a most enjoyable stay, lovely breakfasts, super clean beds/ room. didnt want to take my face away from those lovely white sheets! perfect rooms, perfect hosts, perfect place!

Reviewer:Graham Gaitskell | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Great B&B for the money.- Rating 4/5

Stayed in donnington cottage on 2 separate occasions for 4 nights with work. B& B ideally located for the village and regular bus to airport. Owner Helen is very friendly and serves a fantastic breakfast. Rooms could probably do with a redecorate but are large spacious and comfortable with excellent wifi. Overall for £35 a night a very worthwhile choice, especially given some of the other options in the village.

Reviewer:Tom Wrigglesworth | Tue 9th Sep 2014


Proper Job - Rating 4/5

This is a West-country saying meaning that everything is fine and good. This is a little gem of a place with traditional values of courtesy and service. If you want plastic surroundings then this IS NOT the place for you, here you get proper wooden furnishings in a traditional cottage style. It has to be said that the cooked breakfast is to die for and Helen has to be congratulated on such a high standard, Stayed overnight whilst visiting friends.

Reviewer:Ken Smelt | Mon 25th Aug 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

I only need a room for the night so I could catch my flight early next morning so I was not there long. Helen was wonderful showing me where I could get some breakfast before I left as my flight was very early. the room was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely return to Donington cottage on my next rip to the UK. Many Thanks Helen!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments, so glad you enjoyed your short stay. Helen

Reviewer:Ms. Marilyn Mcdermott | Tue 19th Aug 2014


Mrs - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean room value for money.

Reviewer:Michelle Dubber | Sun 20th Jul 2014


our stay - Rating 5/5

Great b& b only a very short stay but well catered for our late check in . Lovely breakfast . Very helpful Helen even found my husband cufflinks as he'd forgotton to pack some it was our Son's graduation in Nottingham. Highly recommend ! Thank you

Reviewer:Julie Cobb | Thu 10th Jul 2014


buisness use - Rating 4/5

very clean and tidy guest housepropriator very friendly and welcomingalthough most hotels i stay at are en-suiteand this room type was shared bathroom it wasnt a problemwould stay here again if i am in this part of the country

Reviewer:Mick Ryan | Thu 10th Jul 2014


Warm and Friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at the Donington Cottage.Helen emailed me to find out what time I would arrive and as it was quite late (having travelled from Scotland) she left the key out for me.Beautifully quaint cottage with beautiful garden and plenty of parking space.I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast and will definately stay again next time I am in the area.Many thanks

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, very much appreciated.Hope we see you next time you are in the area. Helen

Reviewer:Brian Dewar | Mon 7th Jul 2014


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay at the Donington Cottage. I will stay again very happily! Friendly welcome, comfortable stay, and very good breakfast. Top-notch.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, hope to see you next time you are in Donington. Helen

Reviewer:William Preston | Mon 7th Jul 2014


Cosy Cottage ! - Rating 4/5

A friendly welcome combined with clean comfortable accomodation and a well cooked breakfast makes Donnington cottage a relaxing stay. The property looks well cared for and the hanging baskets surrounding the whole cottage are amazing.Owner Helen seems to pride herself on good customer service and our only suggestion would be to add a couple of veggie sausages to the veggie full english !

Reviewer:Carol Morrisroe | Mon 7th Jul 2014


Airport convenient! - Rating 4/5

A lovely cottage, with a lovely garden to sit in and read, as I did the afternoon before my flight from East Midlands. Set in a pretty village with a number of eating places within walking distance. Everything was clean and adequate for a stay. I particularly liked the fact that breakfast was available even though I had to leave at 5am, a taxi had been ordered for me on my arrival so I knew it had been done, and he was ready and waiting for me outside the door.I would stay again if flying from East Midlands.

Reviewer:Sarah Greenwood | Fri 27th Jun 2014


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

Lovely quiet and clean guest house with a personal touch. Plenty of parking, breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent. We would certainly stay at Donington Cottage again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, hope we might see you again someday.hope your friend is on the mend Helen

Reviewer:Jane Thomson | Wed 25th Jun 2014


A nice stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money. Secure parking for a motorcycle around the back. Comfy room and gut busting breakfast. Within easy reach of the village centre - look out for the micro-pub 'The Chequered Flag' in Church Street - Donnington Race Circuit and the World's largest collection of F1 cars.

Response

So glad you enjoyed your weekend and your stay at Donington Cottage. hope to see you back here next year. Helen

Reviewer:Paul Narramore | Mon 23rd Jun 2014


MR - Rating 4/5

Very Clean & tidy. Accomodated my Gluten free needs. Very polite & friendly hosts. Might be an idea to extend breakfast time to 10. 9 a wee bit early for me.Lovely omelette, though. Would recommend. Great to havehassle free parking as well, thankyou

Reviewer:Chris Mullen | Sat 21st Jun 2014


TOP NOTCH - Rating 5/5

Friendly, welcoming and helpful.The room was ideal for its purposes.The breakfast, included in the cost, was tasty and filling. I cannot fault my stay.Would definitely stay again if circumstances warrant me working locally again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Mitchell | Fri 20th Jun 2014


Brill weekend - Rating 5/5

enjoyed our stay at donington cottage, Helen was lovely and we would stay again if in the area

Response

thank you so much for your kind remarks. Helen

Reviewer:Graham Hussey | Wed 28th May 2014


Best cottage - Rating 5/5

What a fine guest address!! We are four days spoiled every day a clean room, a clean towel and .... a lovely english breakfast. Here we have a newcomer definitely return. Thanks Helen and Les!

Response

hi all you guys, thanks for your great comments, look forward to you coming back to Donington Cottage sometime. Helen

Reviewer:Ron Zonnenberg | Tue 27th May 2014


Recommended !! - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 Nights . Good car park for bikes as well , Very Clean Room , Very Quiet , Brilliant Breakfast and felt much welcomed ..

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, hope we might see you back again next time you come to Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Bruno Desbiens | Mon 26th May 2014


cosy hospitality - Rating 4/5

The room was cosy + had everything we needed. A useful touch was the Visitors Kitchen down the hall so we could prepare snacks prior to attending a wedding reception.Helen was very helpful giving us a local taxi card plus card for the b+b so we knew where to get back to!Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.Overall a really pleasant stay, thanks!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Helenhope we might see you again somtime.

Reviewer:Ms. Ryz Glover | Mon 12th May 2014


A breakfast to kill for! - Rating 5/5

After not having visited Donington Cottage for a few years, it was really good to return and to see that nothing had changed! A really welcoming place;everything clean and presentable;really convenient for Donington Park race circuit (well .. that wasn't going to change);and an amazing breakfast at a time that many other B& Bs would not be prepared to offer.Many thanks to Helen and her staff for keeping Donington Cottage just as it always was.A really great place to stay, and one that is always top of my list when visiting the circuit.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind report, there is nothing better than someone wishing to come back again, it was a pleasure to see you again and now Donington Park is back on track we will see on October the 19th. Thanks Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Smith | Mon 23rd Apr 2012


BTCC 14/15 April 2012 - Rating 5/5

I found the Guest House to be very comfortable, clean and friendly and would recommend it to my fellow marshals. I shall be back next year.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Saunders | Mon 16th Apr 2012


!st Visit - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay just for one night.Room very clean and tidy, plenty of space for two persons.Made very welcome, good breakfast provided.Would use again.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Brian James Funnell | Mon 16th Apr 2012


room1 - Rating 4/5

Very friendly , very pleasant stay will be back soon , my only comment is the poor shower .

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Bevan | Mon 6th Feb 2012


JULIAN ADAMS - Rating 4/5

Nice guesthouse made very welcome by the boss lady, great breakfast good for the hangover!! also very handy location for the race circit. will stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Julian Adams | Mon 6th Feb 2012


- Rating 5/5

ThanksAndrew

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Sutton | Mon 12th Dec 2011


Would stay there again - Rating 5/5

Very friendly people, room clean, bed comfortable, plenty of parking space, very handy for airport and despite it being firework night I found the room well soundproofed. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Dr. Helen Mcardle | Mon 7th Nov 2011


Simple and effective - Rating 5/5

Simplicity is often beautiful.A welcoming face and a hearty breakfast is all I needed and that's what you get here.I was met and left alone to do my thing within two minutes of arriving in the car park.An innovative and effective plug-in broadband solution in the basic functional room was the icing on the cake.Great value and everything you need for a good night's sleep before a track day.I will be using Donington Cottage again for my next stay.

Response

Hello JamesThank you for your kind remarks, hope we will see you again.Helen

Reviewer:Mr. James Thomas | Wed 5th Oct 2011


Enjoyable stay - Rating 1/5

me and my daughter stayed at Donington Cottage on the 13/08/11 for one night. We found it very comfortable, clean and very friendly. The food and service was excellent. I will definately recommend and return.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Lamb | Mon 15th Aug 2011


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We only stayed in the guest house for one night as a convenient place to catch an early flight. The guest house was all we wanted and more - lovely clean room with en suite and good facilities, including LCD flat screen TV. The guest house was well equipped with a clean and practical kitchen, which we used and enjoyed a meal in the lovely garden! Helen was very kind and helpful and left a nice breakfast out for us as we had to get up early. I would highly recommend. Many thanks.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Helen

Reviewer:Miss. Jane Ellis | Sun 7th Aug 2011


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

We stopped at Donnington Cottage for 2 nights during a friends wedding weekend and dispite not spending much time in the room we where well looked after. The breakfast is the bit I always look forward to and it wasn't a disappoinment. A comfortable stay and good value too.

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hopr we might see you again next time you are in Castle Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Davidson | Sat 23rd Jul 2011


Fine - Rating 4/5

Nice house with great breakfest service, only internet connection could be better. Next time I will take my own LAN internet cabel with me.

Reviewer:Mr. Pavel Rokos | Mon 4th Jul 2011


Our review - Rating 4/5

All very satisfactory and friendly and free from external noise.

Response

Thank you so much for your review, I hope I will see you again. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. John Furlong | Fri 27th May 2011


GT40 Club - Rating 5/5

Great service & rooms.Recomended

Response

Thank you so much for your review. I hope to see you next time you are in Castle Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Brameld | Tue 26th Apr 2011


Thanks. - Rating 5/5

Had a really nice stay.

Response

Thank you so much for your review. I hope I see you next time you are in Castle Donington. Helen

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Walton | Tue 26th Apr 2011


Contact

Donington Cottage Guest House
37 - 43 High Street
East Midlands
Castle Donington
Derbyshire
DE74 2PP

Tel: 01332 810618
Fax: 01332810618
doningtoncottage@talktalk.net

Hotel Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Breakfast In Room
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat